CyberCorps® NSF SFS

National Science Foundation’s Scholarship for Service Program

The Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, University of Florida, has received a grant from the National Science Foundation for the CyberCorps® Scholarship for Service (SFS) Program. The grant provides monetary support in the form of scholarships, covering full tuition and providing stipends, to domestic students pursuing degrees specializing in cybersecurity-related topics and information assurance. The program requires that students ‘pay-back’ the scholarship with service, that is a commitment to work for a Federal, State, Local or Tribal government organization in the United States for a period equal to the length of the scholarship. The goal of the CyberCorps® program is to recruit, educate, and train a diverse workforce of individuals interested in taking on the task of securing government agencies from cybersecurity and information technology system threats. Students from traditionally underrepresented populations, including women and minority populations, are strongly encouraged to apply. The University of Florida’s (UF) FICS Research Department will work closely with Florida International University (FIU), on the awarded joint grant towards developing an implementing the SURPASS: A Unique Scholarship Program in Hardware and Systems Security.  UF and FIU are uniquely qualified to offer this scholarship program in hardware and systems security (HSS) because of their curricular efforts, strong research programs, faculty strength, as well as unique lab facilities, which will help deliver an exemplary program in the nation. Both universities serve diverse student populations, have strong internationally-recognized hardware and systems security research programs, and extensive curricular offerings in cybersecurity. The UF team is led by FICS Research’s Education Director,  Prof. Swarup Bhunia, and includes fellow FICS Research faculty Diversity Director Prof. Daniela Oliveira, Co-Director  Mark Tehranipoor, and Prof. Kevin Butler. While, the FIU team is led by Prof. Selcuk Uluagac and includes Profs. Kemal Akkaya and Alexander Pons.


Eligibility Criteria:

Minimum Requirements 


** Although there will be flexibility in meeting individual student interests and goals, there will be a list of required courses a student must take. Contact the program director to discuss your individual requirements.
*** List of Federal Agencies and Federally Funded Research and Development Centers

Application Process – We are not accepting applications at this time.

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have further inquires about the Cybercorps® Scholarship for Service select this link to review frequently asked questions

Contact Details

Project Director @ UF

Prof. Swarup Bhunia (ECE)
MAE 226C
P.O. Box 116200
Gainesville, FL 32611-6120
Phone: 352-392-5989

Project Director @ FIU

Prof. Selcuk Uluagac (EC)
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Florida International University Engineering Center #3141
Miami, FL 33174, USA
Phone: 305-348-3710

Co-Directors @ UF

Prof. Mark Tehranipoor (ECE)
MAE 226B
P.O. Box 116200
Gainesville, FL 32611-6120
Phone: 352-392-2585
Prof. Daniela Oliveira (ECE)
MAE 208
P.O. Box 116200
Gainesville, FL 32611-6120
Phone: 352-392-6618
Prof. Kevin Butler (CISE)
MAE 207
P.O. Box 116120
Gainesville, FL 32611-6120
Phone: 352-562-0789

Co-Directors @ FIU

Prof. Kemal Akkaya (EC)
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Florida International University
Miami, FL 33174
Office: EC 3915
Phone: 305-348-3017
Fax: 305-348-3807
Prof Alexander Pons (EC)
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Florida International University
Miami, FL 33174
Office: EC 3145
Phone: 305-348-7253 Email:

Other Participating UF Faculty

Other Participating FIU Faculty

  • Prof. Osama Mohammed
  • Professor and Director of the Energy Systems Research Laboratory Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Florida International University College of Engineering & Computing, Room EC-3983, 10555 W Flagler Street, Miami, Florida, 33174 Phone: (305) 348 3040 Email:

UF Staff

  • Darlene Brown
  • NSF-SFS Coordinator NEB 434 P.O. Box 116200, 216 Larsen Hall Gainesville, FL 32611-6120 Phone: 352-392-9036
  • Email: